
 
 
 
Lady Golf Captain’s Blog – 26 May 2022  

Please note that Lady Captain’s Day will now take place on 28th June. This is due to the Pearson squad 
qualifying for the Surrey Finals taking place on the original date of 21st June (please read below about their 
exciting triumph in the quarter finals). It is the Lady Captain’s honour and privilege to attend the event to 
support the players, and I am aware that many others may also want to do the same, hence the change.   

There are still places available for the Lady Vice-Captain’s Away Day on 30th June at Berkhamsted Golf 
Club. This is a wonderful course as well as the new home of 
our friend and Golf Professional Joe Biggs. I would like to 
especially encourage new Members and new handicappers 
to join in. It is a team format with the emphasis on fun. 

Beat the Captain and Pro 

I had another most enjoyable challenge round, this time 
partnering with Will Hancock. Our opponents were Anne 
Ryan and Sue Preston. The ladies fought hard, but it was 
difficult to match Will’s incredible play, which included a 
birdie on the 8th. He did have the good grace to apologise 
for that to Anne, who had played the hole beautifully but 
was not to be rewarded. The Captain’s side once again 
prevailed, with the real winner being Regenerate who 
received another kind donation. 

Competitions 

The Spring Meeting Foursomes took place under beautiful 
blue skies. It is always a jolly day, and this year was no 
exception. After the golf, we gathered for a casual lunch and trophies were awarded to the winners from 
the previous week’s Spring Meeting. Those winners were detailed in last week’s Recorder, but an 
additional congratulations to the winners on the day: 

1. Kathleen Bacon and Charlotta 
Lyckeus (35) 

2. Judy Gowing and Pippa Walker (32) 
3. Lucinda Cormack and Melanie 

Schreyer (32 c/b) 

Thank you to everyone who took part in the 
Captains’ Charity Day over the weekend. We 
raised a huge amount for Regenerate, and 
had a great time doing it.  I am also very 
pleased to announce that although we were 
the minority in the field, the women swept 
the prizes. Congratulations to: 



1. Pippa Riddle, Angela Atkins, Siobain Rolston and Jane Terry  
2. Emma Angood, Olivia Mayell, Perrine Faye and Nicola Pearson 
3. Shirley Keane, Pippa Walker, Sandy MacCaw and  

The Pearson 36Hole Salver competition was very poorly supported, 
perhaps due to team players not feeling up to joining in this season 
and a fair few holidays being taken. It seemed wrong to award 
silverware to such a small field, so instead the five hardy entrants 
went out and played a fun Stableford, with the prize of coffees for all 
provided by the Lady Captain. It might be useful for next years Captain 
to understand the dwindling numbers for this event, so please do let 
us know if you feel strongly about maintaining it for next year. 

Teams in Action 

A standing ovation to the 
Pearson Team, beating Betchworth Park 8-6. The team trailed 5-2 
after the away fixture, but a huge turnaround including a 9/8 
victory and a win on the 21st hole resulted in a 6-1 home win. 
They compete in the Semi Finals at Woodcote Park Golf Club 
where they will face Worplesdon Golf Club in the morning round. 
Supporters are most welcome. 

The Centenary Bowl squad was victorious at home over Croham 
Hurst Golf Club.  There were some very emphatic wins, but the 
most exciting occurrence was a hole-in-one by Katy Preston on 
the 13th! The team will next face Hindhead Golf Club. 

Rake those bunkers! 

There have been increasingly frantic pleas from the ground staff 
and the Golf Committee to rake the bunkers. I personally landed 
in a bunker during the Spring Meeting Foursomes that someone 
had left in a bit of a state. It is not enough to casually wave the rake over the spot where you stood. Please 
pass a critical eye over the area and ask yourself how you would feel if your ball landed there. If the answer 
is that you would be fuming about a large ridge or unattended footprint, smooth the area again. And if 
someone before you has not been as careful, adjust your halo sort their mess out. 

Ready Golf, but not in a match… 

The R&A has codified the concept of ‘Ready Golf’ in the current Rule Book. Rule 6.4 specifically notes that 
‘in stroke play, there is no penalty for playing out of turn, and players are both allowed and encouraged to 
play ready golf, that is to play out of turn in a safe and responsible way.’ However, please note that in the 
same rule, it is noted that ‘in match play, the order of play is fundamental; if a player plays out of turn, the 
opponent may cancel that stroke and make the player play again.’ 

The rule allows the player to cancel her opponents stroke whenever, or wherever, the opponent has 
played out of turn. This must be done promptly and before any other strokes are taken. There is not a 
penalty, but the player must, when it is her turn, play a ball from where the original shot was made. If the 
opponent does not cancel the stroke, the stroke counts and the ball is in play. 

A player may invite an opponent to play out of turn or may agree to the opponents request to do so. If the 
opponent then makes the stroke out of turn, the player has given up the right to cancel the stroke. 



The foregoing rules apply to the entire area of play. Therefore, if the player wishes to carry on with her 
putting after having missed her first putt, she must ask her opponents permission. Failure to do so may 
result in the putt being called back. 

 
Patricia Morgan, Ladies’ Golf Captain  
 


